Overview of Federal Fair Housing Act
The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity (FHEO), administratively enforces Federal statutes, executive orders and regulations designed to afford all persons an equal opportunity to live in housing of their choice and to participate in HUD-assisted programs and activities. The Fair Housing Act, Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 , as amended, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions. The following types of discrimination are prohibited:
  • Race
  • Color
  • National Origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial Status (Families with Children under 18)
  • Disability
  • File a Complaint